A burning permit must be obtained prior to any outside burning within the Town of Topsham.
Burning permits can be obtained by the following:1. On-line: (NO FEE) Visit Topsham Fire & Rescue On-line Burning Permits .
NOTE: You must print off and sign your permit and have it available while burning.
2. In Person: (NO FEE) at the Topsham Fire & Rescue Department 7 days a week 9 AM - 4 PM (Subject to staff availability)
3. On-line through the State of Maine ($7 Fee assessed by the State of Maine). For this option click the following link: www.maine.gov/burnpermit/
Burning Permits will be issued at the discression of the Fire Chief/Warden and the availability of department personnel. There will be no burning within the Town of Topsham on class 3, 4 & 5 days or when conditions necessitate a burning ban.
Please click the following link to see today's fire classification rating: Fire Danger Class
Burning Permits are only considered valid during the date of issue.
By law, the only things that can be burned are brush, leaves and clean wood.
Burning Permit Conditions:
There is to be no burning of the following materials:
Any violation of these conditions may result in revocation of permit(s), and/or court action.